The Martian: Bring Him Home

Nominations:

Now I’m not a fan of space movies. Ask anyone, and you’ll learn that I didn’t like Interstellar, or Gravity, and I usually won’t even see a movie if I know it’s about space. There’s just something about it that makes me cringe. That and the idea of floating away into nothing freaks me out. Who wouldn’t be scared of that?

BUT. The Martian completely surprised me and changed my view of space movies. It was funny, thought provoking, and intense. Add in Matt Damon and you’ve got a helluva movie.

The Martian is a science fiction film based on the novel The Martian by Andy Weir. It is directed by Ridley Scott and stars Matt Damon as Mark Watney, a presumed-dead astronaut left on Mars after his crew escapes a deadly sand storm. The movie depicts Mark’s struggles to survive and NASA’s attempts to rescue him. Other notable actors/actresses are: Jessica Chastain, Kristen Wiig, Jeff Daniels, Michael Peña, Kate Mara, and Sean Bean.

I think this was one of Matt Damon’s best performances. He managed to make me sympathize with him, love him, and laugh with him. I was rooting for him the whole movie, from his attempts to grow potatoes using his own shit to when he’s blasting off with only a tarp covering his ship. His communications with Earth (when he finally hacks into the space rover) are hilarious, and I still want to know what he said that NASA’s director had to apologize to the President for!

3050858-inline-i-1-why-the-new-teaser-for-the-martian-is-also-an-under-armour-ad

All in all, I and the rest of the Red Carpet Queens HIGHLY recommend The Martian. And the best way to watch it is with a beer and a good friend, like I did. It’ll make you laugh, bring you close to tears (like when Mark asks his crew to tell his parents thanks for being great parents), and you’ll be left feeling proud of Matt Damon and NASA.

i-dont-want-to-come-off-as-arrogant-here-but-im-the-best-botanist-on-the-planet

Will this be my choice for the Oscar? I’m not sure. But it’s definitely in the running!

–Queen M

One thought on “The Martian: Bring Him Home

Leave a Reply

